Learning about wordpress

A while ago a friend and I talked about publishing a blog and now things are starting to move forward with that it’s time I finally took the plunge and started learning how to blog so wordpress seems like a good starting point and they have sent me a load of instructional emails so am going to write about learning to use wordpress, don’t expect anyone to read this but the active nature of writing about stuff helps fix it in my memory more than just reading it does.

Basic UI

The UI looks like a basic word processing package with BOLD, Italic and spelling options and alignment options fot
Left

Centre

Right

Justification is considered an advanced option for some reason as is underlining and strikethrough , the fact that the formatting features don’t toggle off automatically after applying them to selected text is a little annoying but you gets what you pay for I guess.

Links and stuff

There is a nice link button on the menu google.com which pops up a dialogue box for setting the URL, link text and behavior.

The quote button converts selected text into a block quote – lets try it with one of my favorites.

Marcus Cole: I used to think it was awful that life was so unfair. Then I thought, ‘wouldn’t it be much worse if life *were* fair, and all the terrible things that happen to us come because we actually deserve them?’ So now I take great comfort in the general hostility and unfairness of the universe.

“Babylon 5: A Late Delivery from Avalon (#3.13)” (1996)

So yes I am a massive science fiction geek and also British so the American spell checker is putting me through the usual dilemma of whats worse American spellings or wavy red lines everywhere.

Adding photos et.c

+ in a circle button allows adding images from storage or URL and then clicking image brings up context menu for changing size and adding captions et.c.

044
A duck

 

 

 

Tags

Tags can be added using the categories and tags button on the left hand sidebar.

Leave a comment